White list for Tier 4

Following on from the Blacklist post of yesterday, it is interesting that an announcement is made on the UKBA website today about the "low risk country list" to which Malaysia is added for Tier 4 student applications. The actual countries on the list are Argentina, Australia, Botswana, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Croatia, Hong Kong, Japan, Malaysia, New Zealand, Singapore, South Korea, Twiawan, Tinidad & Tabago and the United States.

For nationals of these countries, to be considered 'low risk', in addition, you must be sponsored by a Highly Trusted Sponsor, and you must be already in the UK or applying for a Tier 4 visa in your country of nationality.

Interesting also that UKBA New York indicate today that From May to August of this year, UKBA NY received 42,000 visa applications of which 11,257 of those were Tier 4 students!